Meet the Mormons, Stake Conference, Cold weather…

Okay. That was definitely a highlight of this week.
We got to watch Meet the Mormons this week at our zone meeting on Friday. It was seriously so good. I think it’s an amazing opportunity for the work to hasten. Not because it’s a proselyting tool, but it just clears up a lot for those who may be confused about who we really are. And here’s some fun facts about the opening weekend that President Johnson sent us today:
The box office results for this past weekend showed Meet the Mormons had the eleventh highest ($2.7 million) ticket sales of any movie in the country.  This ranking came despite the fact it was playing in only 317 theaters (the top ten movies were playing in an average of almost 2,800 theaters).  On a per theater sales basis, Meet the Mormons had the second highest ($8,500) of any movie!  Hopefully, in the coming weeks many more will see it and be touched by its’ message.
So pretty sweet! Those are some amazing results. It will be showing in our area next week and I cannot wait for our members to see it. If any of you haven’t seen it  yet, GO. Experience it in a theater setting. You will not regret it.
We did find a new investigator this week. His name is Jason and he’s Steve (our less active)’s son. He just showed up for the meeting when we were there and wants to be baptized! So, I think he will get baptized somewhere down the road.
We’ve been blessed with many people to teach here! We have a handful of lessons set up already for this coming week and there are some others that are in the process of being set up.
Updates.. Chris isn’t in our area. We thought he was but we’ll have to pass him off to the Lititz Sisters because he’s right on the border. He’ll probably be pretty upset considering he calls us his best friends.
Ryan has been kind of MIA but we got a call from the temple square sisters who were teaching him and they are concerned as well. We actually heard back from him last Monday night and he was really apologetic but he had a particularly difficult weekend with his addiction and didn’t want us to see him how we was. But he was supposed to meet with us yesterday and never showed up. We haven’t heard back from him through calls or texts but it’s just so sad because he seriously knows he needs this! The adversary is just working overtime on him. Hopefully we’ll be able to track him down this week.
We’re meeting with Bro. James this week and that will be awesome! His new work schedule has kind of mellowed out so we’ll be able to meet more regularly.
We visited Ann on Saturday and she’s hoping to have us over for dinner before I leave.
We’re meeting with Deb this week and I’m excited. We have some great lesson plans for her and we haven’t seen her in a while so I miss her!!
Okay so sorry none of that was really exciting but that’s okay.
We had interviews on Friday and I just love President Johnson. He is a truly compassionate man. I cannot believe how blessed I am to serve under him! He just kept telling me, “we’ll be seeing you all too soon in Pittsburgh!” .. great, even my mission president is getting trunky for me! Haha. Just kidding. Don’t worry, I’m not trunky. Excited? yes. Working hard still? definitely.
We  had Stake Conference Saturday/Sunday and there were some really amazing talks/experiences. I really cannot explain it over email so I will tell anyone who wants to know when I get home!! Seriously. don’t forget to ask me. But it was awesome. Let me just say the spirit is real and I learned a lot of amazing things.
Well, everyone, I don’t really know what else to say. I’m loving this. This work is real. I cannot wait to share even more with you all when I get home! Love you!!
Me with the pizza Dad ordered to my apartment on Monday night!
And of course, Elder Whipple and I had to take a picture for Grandma B! Adopted cousins, that’s for sure.


Love,
Sister McKann Hanseen
316 Rivermoor Dr.
Marietta, PA
17547
Meet the Mormons, Stake Conference, Cold weather…

Leave a Reply

