Take your Sin to the Altar and drop it like it’s HOT!

…. no joke that’s what the sign by our house says right now. SO GOLDEN. Don’t worry, we’ve been singing the new lyrics all week long. Pictures or it didn’t happen:
I may or may not also have a video of Elder Durham and Elder Masina dancing next to the sign.. Too bad it takes eight thousand years to send a video.
Quick side note.. The man next to me in the library totally smells like Frito’s.
…….yeah.
So we’ve had some pretty killer storms the past few weeks. Killer being a good thing. Like SO awesome. It’s finally started to kind of feel like September so that’s been nice. It’s been wet so supposedly that means that the autumn will be COLORFUL! Sweet. So excited.
We had a quick exchange this week. Sis. Doxey came with me to Etown and it was alright. I was feeling kind of sick and they came on the day that we never have like ANYTHING so we usually do Area Book work, but we obviously wouldn’t do that on exchange so it was kind of just reeeeaaaaally long. But hey, that’s okay.
So… Crazy life stories right about now.
On Friday we were having a pretty normal day.. Weekly Planning, did some work in Marietta, met the elders to drive to our dinner appointment, had an awesome dinner at the Greenway’s… then we get a phone call.
Sis. Aipa called and she left a message saying that things were really bad with her daughter and son-in-law and the cops were on their way and to call her ASAP.
We call, the cops were there, she only talked for a few seconds. We drove to her cul-de-sac and waited out the cops. After they left, we saw Sis. Aipa drive off and we followed her to the park. She told us all the details and she was in such distress and I really could think of anything else but getting down on the grass with her, holding her hand, and singing a primary song.
I started singing the first song I could think of.
Heavenly Father, are you really there?”
..the tears welled up and the lump in my throat started forming.
And do you hear and answer every child’s prayer?”
Sis Aipa’s face was full of concern and distress as I choked out a few more words.
Some say that Heaven is far away, but I feel it close around me as I pray.”
By this point I’m barely audible and there are tears streaming down my face.
Heavenly Father, I remember now, something that Jesus told disciples long ago: ‘Suffer the children, to come to me.’ Father, in prayer I’m coming now to Thee.”
My hands were shaking as I held her hand in mine. Sister Kerby joined in.
Pray, He is there. Speak He is listening. You are His child. His love now surrounds you.”
Sis. Aipa was rocking back and forth, emotion showing in her eyes as she looked up at the stars.
He hears your prayers. He loves the children. Of such is the kingdom, the kingdom of Heaven.”
We sat there and I wept with Sis. Aipa. My heart was so heavy for her at that time. There were threats her way that if she was to go back, she could have her children taken away–the only thing that she says she lives for. She had 7 days left until she can move into her new house and everything was being held together by a string.
We called her home teacher and he said they could go there for the night. So they’ve been there ever since and things have been smoothing out just a little bit. It’s still kind of chaotic. But, they came to church on Sunday and her 12 year old son was ordained a deacon and he just cried during his setting apart. It was a powerful day.
Saturday was AMAZING. We actually don’t really have p-day today but we got permission to email still because the libraries were closed on Saturday. But we got to go to the temple AGAIN!! And I totally saw other people I know! The Matthews’ family and Bro. Hill from the Greensburg ward were there. That was AWESOME. Anyway, the real reason we went…
Vicky, formerly less active, was going through for her endowment for the first time. We got to go down and catch the session beforehand, and then be in the session with Vicky and another formerly less active member, Grace, who was there for the first time in 15 years. I was so overwhelmed by the power of the temple when I was there. I honestly sincerely have the greatest love for the temple. I feel so blessed to be found worthy to be within the walls of the Lord’s house and to be able to make and keep covenants that will help me obtain all the blessings necessary to receive exaltation and eternal life. What a joy that brings me! When I am there and can feel of the pure peace and serenity that is there, I just honestly cannot understand why that could ever be forfeited. But I guess the little things lead us carefully away. Satan doesn’t necessarily need us to do terrible things. He just needs us to NOT do good things, and then he still wins. What a jerk! My heart just breaks for those who have chosen other paths. This is happiness. And this is TRUTH. There’s no denying it. And I could feel that almost stronger than ever before as I sat within the temple on Saturday with wonderful members of my ward here in Elizabethtown. What a privilege.
I hope everyone has a fantastic week! As for me, I’ll be attending my last zone conference… Ahhh departing testimony. That’s not even real or fair or anything that I like! Haha. And hopefully we’ll be doing a cool musical number with me, Elder Masina, and Elder Durham.. elder Durham on the guitar. woo! Cross your fingers we pull it off!
Love you! Miss you! Stay safe.
And last week’s letter that dumb dad forgo to post!
So it’s been one of the mildest summers I’ve ever experienced in my life and then all of a sudden it’s September and it’s like BOOM I WANNA ROAST EVERYONE IN PA!! Seriously. It’s been so muggy and hot the past few days we’ve been totally dying. EXCEPT there was this sweet like traveling lightning cloud last night that I can’t really describe but it was like glowing and the whole thing just kept lighting up from the lightning and it was kind of red at the bottom and it was awesome. Freaked Sis. Kerby out but I wanted to like chase it down and find out what sort of creature was controlling that thing! It was sweet. My little video I took just doesn’t do it any sort of justice.
Anyway..
So this week. Let’s see.
We were able to see Ann and Alex for the first time in a while on Monday night and it was really positive. They are just always so sweet. Now if they would just come to church…
We have been doing a lot to help the Aipa family recently. They’ve been looking for a place to stay and they finally signed a lease! But they have no furniture and they can’t get the keys until September 12th, so we kind of just keep checking up on them and meeting them at the park and playing with the kids to keep Sis. Aipa calm and help her just have someone to talk to. That’s taken a lot of the week but she wanted us to tell our parents something. She said, “I want you to tell your parents how much you girls mean to me. I know it sounds ridiculous but sometimes when I really feel like jumping off a ledge because it’s all to much to handle, I remember you and remember the love you have for me and then I know I can just do it. You have made the biggest difference in my life and your family needs to know how much difference you’ve made for someone in Pennsylvania.”  or something along those lines. But she said it with tears running down her face and was just so grateful that we were there to love and support her. Those are my favorite moments of missionary work.
We had a particularly neat experience with one of our less actives, Jalinn. She loves the church but she just has put some things off because of some challenges in her family’s life. But, we decided to show her the Mormon Message “Choose You This Day” from a talk by President Henry B. Eyring. It was kind of last minute that we decided to do it and we weren’t sure how it would go. But when we looked over at the end, she was totally crying her eyes out and just felt such a strong spirit. She said that she knows she’s been procrastinating a lot of things and is ready to start taking steps to get her family back on track. It was a great confirmation to me of how aware Heavenly Father is of each of His children. That video was NOT on our agenda at all. In fact, we were totally out of time for comp study and we just decided, “Hey, let’s just watch this last video and see if we could share it.” It was truly a miracle of the Spirit.
We were able to have a lesson with Ann on Friday and it was really so awesome and I was 100% sure that she was coming to church. And then she didn’t. And I was really sad. Devastated, in fact. But, alas. Agency exists. Better luck next week? I’m crossing my fingers!
On Saturday I’m pretty sure I hate half my weight in delicious food. Every time I turned a corner someone was offering me something else delicious.. homemade chocolate soufflé, Utz chips (straight from Hanover, PA) and just all sorts of other delicious things. I kept thinking, “awesome, it’s fast sunday tomorrow. I can fast it all off.” Yeah.. It wasn’t fast sunday, just BTW.
And last but not least… Yesterday was an AWESOME P Day. Because of Labor day and no emails, we decided to go do a hike in Columbia. It’s this little dinky hike to a place called Chickies Rock.. But it was the first time I’ve been hiking since before my mission! And I was craving hiking so it was great. And the view of the Susquehanna was to die for. Plus, we got some pretty awesome pictures.
After that we went to this little diner for lunch and then Sis. Kerby and I went home and took naps because we were BEAT!
I hope everyone has a great week! I’m loving this. Just keeping my eye on the Lord and His will and timing for everything. It helps to broaden perspective a bit. 🙂
Love you! Miss you! Have a great week!!
1. Me swinging from vines in nature. YEAH!
2. Pro hikers! –Elder Boren, Elder Gibson, Elder Masina, Elder Durham, Sister Kerby, Me.
It was also like 88 degrees outside and the most humid day I’ve felt in a while.. hence the sick nasty sweat face I am but hey.. I’m healthy, right?

Love,
Sister McKann Hanseen
316 Rivermoor Dr.
Marietta, PA
17547
Take your Sin to the Altar and drop it like it’s HOT!

Leave a Reply

