Gimme some more of that Amish grown sweet corn and I’ll stay here forever!

[Editor’s note — Dad — ME, has been on a honeymoon and didn’t get McKann’s letter loaded until just tonight]

​ Oh man! I LOVED ALL THE PICTURES OF THE BEAUTIFUL NEW COUPLE! Wow. So enchanted by the gorgeous day. Looks like everyone had a great time. Thanks for those who sent pictures and told me a little bit more about it. Glad I was there in spirit. 🙂
 
So, this week.
Well, Sista J was sick for two days (Tuesday and Wednesday) so I got a little bit stir crazy. But I guess that made it even more rewarding to get out there and go to work the rest of the days! And while she was sick I reorganized our kitchen and also taught myself how to make sweet HERBAL iced tea. So good. Who knew that there were instructions on the herbal tea boxes….? 😉
 
It was definitely kinda brutal to be stuck inside on the day of the wedding knowing I was missing out but I bet it was just so awesome. But ANYWAY…
 
Thursday we had a normal district meeting and then when we were doing Mormon.org time I was looking on the stake directory and saw that my friend, Johnny Liao, who got baptized at the end of our senior year is on a mission now! And I couldn’t be more thrilled! How awesome. I’m so pumped about that still.
 
We had dinner at this place in Etown called P&J’s and … Oh my heck. Best Philly cheesesteaks you can ever have. Everyone who’s had them in Philly and at P&J’s says that they are better than getting them in Philadelphia. So delicious.
 
On Saturday I bought a new dress during our dinner hour. I HAD to. It was at Coldwater Creek and it was closing down so they had 80% off. $130 dress for $25? Yeah. I’m sending a picture (mostly cause I know Nyia and Gillian will want to see it).
 
Okay so here’s the big news of the week..
The Elizabethtown ward boundaries are changing! We’re getting part of the York ward.. Which just throws everything up in the air for the missionaries. We might be moving to one of our sub areas, Marietta. But… It’s all a mess. We’ll find out more by next week. We’re hoping it won’t change what missionaries are serving in the ward because we Etown missionaries have so much fun together!
 
So, as for like.. cool experiences this week.. I’m limited. But I do have some parts of my journal I’m going to add because they were interesting.
 
“Thursday, July 17, 2014
We’ve been cleaning up some of the records for the ward lately. We went to track down this guy and ended up meeting his brother-in-law. It was really an interesting experience. He was “passionate” but really just argumentative. He kept saying that we believe in a different Jesus Christ than he does. He totally questioned everything and expected answers but couldn’t answer any of mien. It was so funny because we had just been listening to a talk in the car that referred to “antichrists” (like in the BOM or otherwise) as “faith shakers” and how they never have true evidence for their points. There cannot be real evidence behind falsehoods! this man criticized my every move–if I shrugged my shoulders, he criticized it. If I shook my head, he mocked it. If I apologized, he denied it. Yet, if I asked him to explain one of his arguments he just moved on to another “one-spoke-wheel” argument. It couldn’t hold any weight. But, I just felt so sad for this man. That he was so vehemently rejecting what he was “so sure about,” yet really had no clue. I just mourned for him. And with hot tears in my eyes and alump in my throat, I shook his hand and walked away and watned nothing more than to apologize to the Savior that he had ever had to feel what I was feeling right then. What an awful, terrible feeling. I just so desperately want to help people like that more than anyone else. But it’s so impossible to help someone who doesn’t want to be helped and doesn’t beleive they are in need of it. I just keep thinking about how Elder Holland always says that when we are rejected and mocked and persecuted and cast out, that we are standing shoulder to shoulder with the greatest and only pure missionary who ever lived–our Savior, Jesus Christ. What an honor and privilege.”
 
“Saturday, July 19, 2014
 
…And, on the way from Mountville to Etown, we drove past an Amish vegetable stand and HAD to stop for some sweet corn. it was $2.50 for six ears and $2.50 for HUGE potatoes. And then they just have a little box and it’s the honor system/you write down what you’re buying and then put your money in the slot. So cute! We were driving away and I saw the beautiful country houses with their welcome lights in the windows, and it was just as the sun was beginning to set. I was looking over the free Amish recipes I’d just picked up and the windows were rolled down. I  just looked out the window at the windy road lined with corn crop and houses and really just thought to myself, ‘Wow, I REALLY just love Pennsylvania. I am so lucky!’ Oh, and on the drive home we also saw about 30 Amish kids playing volleyball I n their little Amish bonnets n’at. Cute!”
 
Just a little glimpse at the wide range of experiences this week. Until next time, adieu!
 
Here’s my new dress. We’ll just say that I bought it for the wedding, too. 😉
 ​

Love,
Sister McKann Hanseen
6 Williamsburg
Elizabethtown, PA
17022
Gimme some more of that Amish grown sweet corn and I’ll stay here forever!

Leave a Reply

