Sunburned, of Course!

Well, I escaped the 4th of July sunburn and got scalded on the 5th. Dang. I’ll send a picture at the end, if it works.

This is going to be a short email. I feel strongly that I need to give more attention to the personal emails today and so the blog’s just gonna have to DEAL with it. Haha. And family… Sorry for the lack of details. But I’m trying to be quick.

We met our new mission president and his wife: President and Sister Johnson. President Johnson is basically my kindred spirit because he was the CFO for REI and also worked for Land’s End and… AHHH. yes. He said, “oh we’ll have to talk about outdoor stuff sometime because that’s what I get REALLY passionate about!” What a gem. And his sweet wife. Oh man. Sweetest lady. I’m so excited for their presence and leadership here in this mission! What a treat.

It’s sometimes so difficult when people at home are hurting and you just want to hug and hold them and tell them it will be alright. But for a friend at home losing her sister to a hard battle with cancer, I’ve committed myself to work harder than I ever have before on my mission. Because she and her family need those blessings right now! (And so do my family and I). And I’m excited to get to work and help everyone I can. Every second counts and I’m learning that so immensely lately!

Well this week was pretty successful. We had a lesson in a members’ home with our investigator, Ciara. She is getting baptized on August 16th and she is progressing swimmingly. I love her so much. She’s awesome. We shared that Mormon Message of Jeffrey R. Holland’s conference talk about why Joseph Smith and Hyrum Smith would not have sacrificed so much if the Book of Mormon wasn’t true and it was BOMB. Loved it.

We picked up a new investigator named Yevette this week and she basically said she’d been praying for the Lord to send someone her way. After worries of a wayward child, we read her the story of the Prodigal son. We cried together and testified of a loving Savior and Redeemer that we can come closer to through the Book of Mormon than through any other book.

Last week, Sister Johnson and I fasted for a specific less active family. They are the sweetest little family from American Samoa. I loved them from the second I met them. We fasted that they would be able to get up on time to come to church (that’s the hardest part for them). Last week, they did not come. But we kept praying. And yesterday as we’re sitting in the pews in the chapel, lo and behold… They walk in! All dressed up and matching in blue with the cutest baby I’ve ever seen in my life and the other two kids trailing sweetly behind. What a heavenly sight! I cannot wait for the day that they get sealed in the temple. What a miracle and blessing that will be to them. To see them all in WHITE! Ah. I can’t wait. I know it will happen.

4th of July was pretty chill. We just did Weekly Planning most of the day and then went over and spent the even with the Conger family. We had dinner and did fireworks… No, I didn’t light any, sadly. But I got some golden videos of the kids screaming when they went off. Prime. Loved it.

Oh, we were out of a car this week, too and it was pretty much not even that bad. So.. Awesome!

And you’re not in a ward in Pennsylvania until someone starts relating the dead deer guts that were splattered on their windshield on the freeway to the battles in the Book of Mormon. Lancaster County, you never disappoint.

Love you all so much. Miss you. Keep the faith.​ And put on your sunscreen. 🙂

This is Sister Johnson studying at the park. She’s diligently researching 1 Nephi 8: “Lehi’s Dream” … Haha.​

Sunburned, of Course!

Leave a Reply

