84 Degrees and a smile on my face!

Man oh man. This week has had some BEAUTIFUL weather. And I’m sure you all really care about that but seriously! It’s just added to the awesomeness of the week.

I do have a new companion! Sister Crockett ended up in Monongahela and is in the same ward as my friend Samarah’s family. Weird! Anyway as for the newb… Her name is Sister Wilde and she is from Brigham City, Utah. Actually she’s from Perry? (I don’t know if that’s how it’s spelled). But she lives literally right across the street from Maddock’s … that awesome restaurant that I want to go to! But it’s okay, the McBride’s in the ward here said that when they come out to Utah in December they’ll take me there. Haha. Weird that I will actually be there when people are headed back out to the motherland! Sister Wilde knows my friend Chance Allen’s family so that’s cool (he was my coworker at the great Outdoors Unlimited). Anyway, Sister Wilde has been out about 6 months and was actually MTC Companions with my most recent trainee, Sister Hathaway. She served in Moon before this and it’s just across the river in the Pittsburgh 6th ward. But the best part is, she’s so ready to go and get out there and talk with EVERYONE. So there are bright things in store for the Beaver Valley North area. HOLLA!

We actually have had some more change this week. We got a new Ward Mission Leader yesterday and I couldn’t be more thrilled. Our last one did SO much work and was really dedicated but he struggled working with the sisters. So, I’m grateful for a fresh mind to pick and new opportunities that come with change.

We had a Zone Training meeting on Wednesday which was great, as always. Elder Weatherston just got made a Zone Leader for my zone and I am so excited! He’s such a champ and I think he really has what it takes to whip this zone into shape. 🙂

This week we had some good highlights:

–We had dinner at the Rambo’s and Bro. Rambo is like… Well, have you seen those Dos Equis commercials of “The Most Interesting Man in the World?” … That is him. Not kidding. His next adventure is to go to Colorado and wrestle and alligator. And he’s not joking either. He has like 300 guns and pretty much anything you would possibly need in a zombie apocalypse. And of course, Sister Wilde had to get the new missionary initiation tour of their house. They just have like a museum in their house of all this cool stuff. It’s great.

–We helped do some service for a member family and I got to use their pressure washer and it was a blast. I think I’ve found a new love for pressure washing. (Side note–this is also a huge sign that I’ve obviously been on my mission for way too long because pressure washing was legitimately really fun for me. hahahahahaha).

–We were outside a lot on Saturday and I got my first sunburn of the season! Mmmmmhmmmm.

–We had a great opportunity to sing in the Stake Easter Fireside yesterday. We sang some amazing songs and it really was a miraculous night. Every practice we had was just really rough. I honestly didn’t think it would come together. But, of course, it totally came together and there seriously must have been angels singing with us. What a privilege to be able to worship through music and share talents through the spirit!

Now, for a different story. We were tracting on Saturday and we met these three guys in their garage. They were just standing there and we went up and asked them how it was going and asked what they were up to. The one guy just said, “I just buried my grandson.” And … I choked. Like HELLO we have this whole thing called the PLAN OF SALVATION and just nothing was coming out. I don’t know if that was like a stupor of thought or what. All I could tell him was that I was so sorry and that we would be praying for him. But it was the weirdest thing. I felt so bad. But I think we’ll go back and just tell him that we’ve been thinking about him and see if maybe there would be another opportunity to help offer some comfort and solace. It was kind of a slap in the face though to realize that just because you’ve been on your mission for almost a year doesn’t mean you will always know what to do! Thank goodness that the Lord believes in second chances, though. I will definitely be going back there and trying to help this grieving family.

That’s pretty much it for this week.

Sadly… I don’t even have any pictures! What the heck? I know. Lame. I’ll work on it!

Have a great week everyone! Love you all!

Love,
Sister McKann Hanseen
256 East End Avenue

Beaver, PA 15009
84 Degrees and a smile on my face!

Leave a Reply

