Happy New Year!!

Well everyone, this week’s email is probably going to be a little bit shorter for a couple of reasons. First, I just got to talk to you all on Wednesday and it was the best thing ever! Second, I got a lot of awesome emails today that I actually want to take the time to respond to. And third, not a lot happened this week if I’m being completely honest. Haha.

 
One random thing. I’m pretty sure I live in an apartment that’s like haunted by Jumanji. There’s always bird noises happening all around and whenever our heater starts up it sounds like all kinds of jungle animal life is totally barging around in the closet. So.. That’s a thing.
 
Also, sad note. Stamps are increasing in price at the first of the year. Stupid!! But still write me and I’ll love you forever. 🙂
 
So, it snowed on December 26… The day after freakin’ Christmas. Laaaaaame. Oh well. Christmas was so fun! We really just hung out and ate a lot and opened presents. It was kind of an emotionally taxing day at times but I was really just so happy that I was spending Christmas with people I love. The Townsend’s are like my favorite family ever. They were super nice and let me just have a moment by myself. Haha. And the missionaries I’m serving with are so awesome. I’ll be sad when we all change up in a couple of weeks.
 
On Christmas Eve we went to this family’s house and had some delicious prime rib and played card games and stuff. It was so fun. I felt right at home. That’s always the best when it’s a time that you could potentially be pretty trunky and homesick. 🙂
 
I feel like all of our investigators dropped off the face of the planet so there hasn’t been anything really noteworthy to talk about during the week. But our investigator, Sam, came to church yesterday! It was awesome because all the missionaries spoke in sacrament about testimonies. She really loved it! It was so awesome.
 
Oh! On Saturday night the elders had a baptism for their investigator, Shaun. He’s been investigating for about 5 months so it was way cool to get to see him enter the waters of baptism. It was definitely an exciting night! I felt like the sons of Mosiah being all excited about the success of my fellow missionaries! Elder Martin baptized him and Elder Little confirmed him–a first for both of them. It was awesome to get to share that experience with them. I sang some version of “I Know That My Redeemer Lives” that Elder Little is obsessed with. So that was cool. I had a sore throat so it could’ve been better but it’s all good. 
 
I’m so grateful to be out here. I know that there have been some bumpy patches here in Latrobe, but the Lord has been aware of me. I have felt His love in an indescribable way the past two months and I’m excited to see what the future holds. I’m so spoiled to have all of your love and support. Thanks for the letters, emails, prayers, packages, and well wishes! I love you all! Have a fantastic New Year!
 

— 

Love, 
Sister McKann Hanseen
216 N. Shenandoah Dr. #302

Latrobe, PA 15650
Image
                                        Someone was thoughtful!  Happy Birthday!!!
Image
                                                         “Cool” Bridge with icicles
Image
                                                    We’re cool Hatstas  (okay… pch just made that part up)
Happy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

