Oh MAN! This is what Missionary work is supposed to feel like!

OH MAN.

THIS IS WHAT MISSIONARY WORK SHOULD FEEL LIKE, PEOPLE.

It’s been a great week. I’ve gone to bed absolutely exhausted every night this week because I’ve just felt like I’ve been putting my heart and soul really into the work. I thought I was doing that before. And honestly, I think I was. But it takes a lot more emotional effort and concentration to be able to balance 4-5 new investigators as opposed to just riding buses all day. In fact, I am starting to build an immunity to the buses. I fall asleep on them ALL the time. The other day I fell asleep for a solid 30 minutes and when I woke up I was doing some serious double-chinning and there was a strange man sitting next to me. Then I freaked out, made sure my companion was still on the bus, then felt super sheepish at the thought of how many people sat down next to the comatose missionary and got up a few stops later when another, more appealing seat option opened up.

Oh man.

So, first off I’ll tell you all the less important things because I still think they’re funny but not as spiritual or whatever.

Well..

I typed that sentence up there ^ and then looked at my planner and realized that I don’t have a whole lot of funny things to write. 

Yesterday when Sister Hurdsman and I were walking, I was telling her a story (that’s what we spend most of our time doing when walking–I tell stories and she laughs at my stupidity) and a giant BUG FLEW ONTO MY FACE. I don’t even know what it was because I immediately started doing one of those freak out dances and swatted it away. I also threw in some violent “pfffffff” noises with my mouth because I was thinking it maybe got into my mouth. Hopefully that was a fun image for all of you…. IT WAS TERRIFYING.

My birthday was funny. Actually, to be honest, it was kind of the worst day of the week. NOT because I didn’t feel loved or anything–because I totally did–but because we literally had NOTHING exciting that happened. It was easily our most dull missionary work day of the week. Which is kind of a bummer for a birthday when you’re a missionary. 
But, all the missionaries went out to lunch to celebrate. We went to this little place called Big Bowl where the whole menu is in Chinese and it’s not a hole-in-the-wall type restaurant, it’s a hole-in-the-GROUND. You would totally miss it if you didn’t know it was there. You have to walk down these sketch-tastic  stairs in the middle of downtown State College. And it only takes cash. And there is usually about one other white person in there. BUT IT’S FREAKIN’ GOOD. Super cheap and super good. Best fried rice I’ve ever had in my life. And guess what? I TOTALLY EAT SPICY FOOD NOW EVERYONE. At least, I’m working on it. There’s this sauce called “Sriracha” (I have no idea how to spell it) and it’s super spicy but I always eat it when I got there. I also bought some sushi today from Wegman’s (it doesn’t even compare to Shoga but whatevah) and ate wasabi on it. So I’m moving up in the world.

Anyway, the elders brought this carrot cake roll thing and candles from Weis (or as we like to call it “we IS.” Bless their hearts. They’re so good to us sisters. Then at the end, Elder Vassallo made everyone give me a compliment and about 2/7 compliments were actually sincere but we’ll just blame it on missionary awkwardness. Haha. No, it was really nice.

Now that I think about it, my birthday was actually the day that I fell asleep on the bus.  Haha. Birthday nap? Woof. 

I also did come home to a huge package from Nana and my NEW WATCH. It’s so pathetic and first worldly but I have to say that I feel so much less stress every time I look at my wrist. So thank you thank you thank you for that!

It’s getting chilly here. I had to go buy some boots and a sweater today because it’s seriously been getting freezing cold. Except then apparently this week it’s supposed to get up to 79 so what the heck? Nobody is ever allowed to tell me that Utah weather is bipolar EVER AGAIN. You’re wrong. WEATHER is just bipolar. The end. Okay cool, glad we settled that.

Here’s some awesome highlights for the week:

(And I’m totally gonna do a list form because we all know I love lists).

  • We had forums on Tuesday and I think that was one of the times that I have really felt like a missionary. This random kid came up to the table and asked what it was all about. I started asking him about his religious background and he said he was raised Catholic but is now pretty much atheist/agnostic. He said he has a hard time believing in something he can’t tangibly feel or see, etc. I started talking to him about the Book of Mormon and I bore super hardcore testimony about prayer and about how much God loves us and actually knows us personally. And we just TALKED. I wasn’t trying to convert him. He wasn’t being rude or argumentative. We were just discussing what questions we had and what we think about things and it was seriously fantastic. He actually ended up taking a Book of Mormon, really wanted to read some of it, and is going to meet with us this week. WHAT THE WHAT?! Some kid comes up and starts off by saying he’s atheist and leaves with “okay, call me this week and we’ll meet up after I’ve read some of this book!” SO AWESOME.
  • I got to talk to Dad on the phone for like 2 minutes! That is a rarity. But for all who were worried or praying or wondering–everything went well with the doctor’s appointment. Nothing to worry about. I’m totally healthy. You won’t be seeing me any time soon. 🙂 AND I got to call home and tell you guys that. It was great.
  • Okay so just to clarify–the person we were setting with a date is from Thailand, not China. Sorry if that was confusing, Dad! But her name is Luna and she is stinkin’ adorable. We set her with a date! She will be baptized on the weekend of October 26th. We’re still working out if it’s going to be Friday, Saturday, or Sunday, but she’s so committed. I’m having a little bit of anxiety about the fact that this transfer ends October 20th and I’ll have been here six months and will be finished with Sister Hurdsman’s training. So… Yeah. Selfish desires, I know. Bottom line.. She’s getting baptized. That’s one more soul that’s closer to Christ. I think that fulfills my purpose pretty exactly. 🙂
  • Jacob had another lesson and he’s doing great! I actually didn’t attend it because his and Luna’s lesson were set at the exact same time so we had to go on a split. OKAY DID YOU HEAR THAT? WE WENT ON A SPLIT. WHAT IS THIS “SPLIT” BUSINESS? WE WERE TOO BUSY TO MEET ALL OUR APPOINTMENTS ON OUR OWN?! My mind has been so blown this week. It’s incredible.
  • The elders met a guy at forums and his name is Jock. We taught him with the elders this weekend and it was awesome. He’s from Kenya and he’s been a Christian his whole life. He told us that meeting with us made him not feel as stressed out has he had been. Elder Vassallo and Elder Trotman are AWESOME teachers. It’s so fun to get to teach with them. Jock recognized the spirit and is meeting with us again this week. 🙂
  • Next week we have a mission tour! Elder Arnold of the Seventy is coming to speak to us. But here’s an awesome part–the night before the conference, he asked if he could come to State College and have a fireside JUST with the young adults here. That means the University Park Branch ALONE. Plus missionaries and investigators. AHHH. It’s awesome. I’m so excited. We’re going to be among just about 50 people with a member of the Seventy. SO cool.
  • There’s a guy in the branch here who told me that the reason he has felt like my last name is so familiar is because his mission president’s wife’s maiden name is Hanseen? What?? Her name now is Jane H. Pugh. Her and her husband were mission presidents of the Harrisburg mission (before it was “translated” as he says) and now they’re temple presidents in Seattle. Family.. any relation? That would be nuts. But who else is named Hanseen?
  • MISSIONARY WORK IS GREAT. Man. I feel like I’m totally probably gonna get transferred since I’m all energized and ready to go now. But it’s awesome. This branch is seriously GETTING it. They just understand member missionary work. I really thought they didn’t for a while but there have been miracles unfolding like I would’ve never expected in a million years. Yesterday, we had an entire fast dedicated to missionary work. And as it would be, all the testimonies were pretty much comprised of the recent converts and their conversion stories. We had investigators at church. The Spirit was seriously working. And miracles are legit, everyone. They happen. I am such a believer.

I miss everyone. Thanks for your love, prayers, and thoughts. It’s really the best. I love you all! Have a great week!

— 

Love, 
Sister McKann Hanseen
10 Vairo Blvd #32D
State College, PA 16803

 

 
Oh MAN! This is what Missionary work is supposed to feel like!

Leave a Reply

