Times are a changin’

Hey everybody! I’ve been particularly excited to email this week. And I think since I’ve been so excited, Heavenly Father is like “hahahah sucker I’m gonna make you forget your planner/camera/journal when you go to email so you can’t remember anything!” No I’m serious. Heavenly Father is hilarious and he totally teases me all the time. It’s fine.

Anyway, I’m going to do my best and remember the good stuff that has happened this week! And funny stuff of course. 🙂

This week I was a total nut case. There are a couple of reasons for that. First, DAD YOU WERE TOTALLY IN THIS TOWN AND I KNEW IT ALL WEEK AND I JUST WANTED TO COME SAY HI! But really, I wanted to. On Friday evening, Sister Ferrin and I went to go and leave you a note but apparently you were gone. That was sad. It would’ve been cool to leave you a note. I’m glad you got to see the place though! Isn’t it beautiful here? I really do love it. 

And another reason is because we knew that transfer calls were coming at the end of the week. Literally every day I would say to Sister Ferrin, “in [x amount of] days we are going to know what the heck is happening next transfer. Then surprise, surprise, the zone leaders called on Friday instead of Saturday. They told SF she was getting transferred, and then that was it. So all day I was having like a heart attack because I didn’t know what was happening to me. And then, Friday night, we got a call from President Topham. He told Sister Ferrin that she is training in Lock Haven (about 30 minutes north) which is something we didn’t expect. Then he asked to talk to me. Here’s how it went:
Me: “Hey President! How are you?”
Prez: “I’m great, Sister Hanseen. How are you?”
Me: “Doing well!”
Prez: “That’s good to hear. Well, are you ready to train one of the new sisters coming out even though you haven’t finished your own training yet?”
Me: “Well, I’m willing!”
Prez: “Great. You’ll get travel logistics on Sunday.”

OKAY WHAT THE WHAT?! Yeaaaaah you read that right, folks. One transfer down and I’m already going to be training a new kid. I hardly know which direction I’m facing, let alone how to teach someone how to be a missionary… Let’s just say that I’m pretty sure that PMG and prayer are going to be my new BFFs this transfer, if they weren’t already. It’s going to be the strangest thing because there’s a sister here, Sister Kingsford, that came out with me. She’s still being trained. And then I’m going to be training someone?? Yeah. Sweet. Elder Vassallo was telling me that he feels inadequate because he came out with me and he’s not training. But I’m in State College where it’s like super easy to train because there’s two sets of sisters, and Sister Ferrin was getting transferred. I’m kind of just in the right place at the right time, and Elders NEVER train after one transfer, because there’s enough of them not to do that. There’s just a crazy influx of sisters. But I’m ready though. I’m kind of nervous a little bit but it will be good. If the Lord and President Topham trust me then I just need to trust myself, right? Sister Ferrin and I are driving to Pittsburgh tonight for transfers and I’ll pick up my little greenie tomorrow afternoon. 🙂 And then WHAM I’M GONNA BE A SENIOR COMP BEFORE I’VE BEEN OUT TWO MONTHS AND I REALLY MIGHT HAVE A HEART ATTACK AND DIE BUT IT’S OKAY. 

Okay. Just needed to get that minor spaz attack out of the way. 

I’m glad I get to stay in this area, though. I was praying really hard for that because I feel like there’s so much going on here and it’s really amazing. It’s filled with total kook boxes and weirdos but there’s also tons of really sweet, amazing people. I feel like I’ve known these people my whole life. I’m pretty positive that in the preexistence you meet all these people you’re going to come in contact with in real life because seriously… my heart feels so full of love for people! Davis told me in an email a while back that he thinks that God just lets missionaries’ hearts expand so they can fit all the love in. I totally agree. I didn’t know I could love this much. AND I LOVE A WHOLE DANG LOT ALREADY! Seriously. It’s great.

Well, it was super rainy here this past week. One night, there was a thunderstorm that was so loud it woke me up (GUYS IT WOKE ME UP. I DON’T EVER WAKE UP!) and then I was kinda ticked for two reasons. 1. I lost some very valuable sleep. and 2. I was half asleep so I didn’t think about the fact that I totally LOVE thunderstorms and I seriously regretted not getting out of bed and watching the lightning for a few minutes. But oh well. What’s done is done. But it was awesome. I love the rain. I’m pretty sure a lot of people get sick of it but I’m pretty confident that I am always going to feel like I’m best friends with the rain. Really. It’s so awesome. I love being outside in it, too. Sister Ferrin doesn’t particularly love being outside in it but we worked with it alright. 🙂 

I’m actually pretty bummed that Sister Ferrin is leaving. We get along so well and we seriously just laugh our heads off all day long every day and I’m gonna miss that. Hopefully my new companion will understand my stupid humor and will laugh with me at everything. I get the senior comp chair in the study room. AKA a huge lazy boy recliner. So there’s no way she can look at me during studies and laugh because I’ll just look foolish and awesome all at the same time. Luckily, Sister Ferrin is the Sister Training Leader over this area so she’ll get to come on exchanges with me and we can have a nice little reunion party! Yeah!!!

I’ve been thinking about everyone at home a lot lately. And I need to just say thanks so much for emails, letters, thoughts, prayers, the works. It means the WORLD to me and things seem to come just when I need them. So thank you. 🙂 

Oh let me tell you about the first time I’ve cried on my mission. It was so ridiculous. Last P Day, all the other missionaries were kind of acting like they were mad at us and we couldn’t figure out why and I felt SO BAD that I had maybe offended them for some reason and so I shed a few tears. It was a milestone. Water came out of my face. Anyway…

I think everyone should read this line from an email that Kyle sent me today: ” i want to stay in this area and finish baptisting some people that I am having to marry.” Hahaha I totally thought he was saying like he needs to be married to these people. Awkward. 

I am trying to think of things but I really don’t remember the other stuff I was going to say because I forgot my journal. 😦 And I can’t even send these hilarious pictures that SF and I took the other night. Elder Howell left  his Jimmer jersey at the church so we took it home and did impersonations of him and Elder Vassallo, and took pictures. We even hung up a sheet behind us and everything. Sister Ferrin was wearing a “PETA” shirt since Elder Vassallo tries to be vegan. But the shirt says “People Eating Tasty Animals.” It was great. I’ll send those next week. 

You guys are all the best! I really love and miss everyone. But holy cow I’ve already done one transfer. It FLEW by. Only 12 more to go. 🙂

Have a great week everybody!

[the photo below was sent by the Leavitt family who had the missionaries over for dinner – State College, PA, June 2013

Image
— 

Love, 
Sister McKann Hanseen
10 Vairo Blvd #32D
State College, PA 16803
Times are a changin’

Leave a Reply

