Week 2 – MTC

Okay so this week has been quite interesting. I can’t really believe that I have been here for over a week and it totally feels like months. I get to say something though… I AM OFFICIALLY THE ONLY SISTER WHO HAS NOT YET HAD A BREAKDOWN!! And I’m going strong. Two nights ago when we were studying about receiving revelation through church attendance and why that is important for investigators, Sister Bateman kind of lost it a little bit. It is totally understandable. This work is HARD. I seriously just sit there in shock sometimes because I want so badly to be able to do these powerful things that our teachers demonstrate but I guess it just comes with practice. I’m learning more and more how the Atonement can work for me in my teaching, and everything else that I’m doing. One of my favorite things that one of the teachers said to Sister Bateman and I during that episode is this: “You weren’t called on a mission because you’re perfect. You were called on a mission because you’re not.” How beautiful. That was from Sister Thomas. She’s been helping out because we’re really short on districts and really overflowing with teachers. One of the zone teachers right now is Brother Morris (Mitch Morris) and he actually was in my ward last year. Also, Brother Sessions is one of my new teachers and he’s in my major. And Brother Yeck, who we’ve spent significantly more time with, served in Lansing and served with Jordan Hill. And knows Stuart McGraw. Hahahahaha. What are the odds, right? So cool though. I’m enjoying all of our teachers, even though I really miss our other ones.

 

Here’s some people I’ve seen this week: Christian Garrett, Travis Tyler (we took a picture but I’m on a stupid computer right now that doesn’t have a card reader so I’ll have to send those pictures once I’m out in the field), Megan Russell (my old roommate), and I actually see Maren Young all the time. Maren was in band with me and our schedules are pretty much the same so we have gym and meals together! It’s the best. She’s leaving for Korea on Monday as well.

 

Last Sunday was one of the more interesting Sundays of my life. Sister Oscarson, the brand new YW General President came to speak to the Relief Society and it was her first official assignment in per position. We were sitting in the front row. It was really really awesome! One of my favorite things she said was this: “When you feel discouraged, remember your commitment to serve the Lord and His commitment to serve alongside you. He will bear you up.” So powerful. We also had sacrament meet with our zone, which was like no people at all. We’ve had such a small zone! But something powerful in sacrament was this: “Believing IN the Lord does not mean BELIEVING Him.” We must trust the Lord! I’m learning that quickly. He’s got our backs. We can either use him or waste the support he’s waiting there to give us! In the Sunday Night devotional, Stephen Allen, the Managing Director of the Missionary Department spoke. He talked about The Atonement and not letting Satan push our buttons. It touched me when he said “Conform your will with His.”  After, we watched Character of Christ, which is an MTC Devotional that was given by Elder Bednar. He talked about how Christ turns outward when the rest of us turn in. Some highlights (there were many) : “The greatest convert on your mission should be YOU. But that won’t happen if hat’s what you are trying to do.” “A testimony is not always enough. You must be truly converted.” and just the thought that we should always be thinking of how we can turn outward and look to be helping others. It was great.

 

On Monday we taught our first TRC Investigator. Her name is Claudia and she is from Madagascar. She and her family are here while her husband is getting a Master’s Degree at BYU. She was contacted by the missionaries and agreed to let them come back. She was really nice and fun to talk to. We committed her to reading the BOM and praying and she said she was doing it when we went back on Wednesday. But she is Catholic and we had a little hiccup when she asked why her baptism wasn’t good enough. We’ve learned better since then and now we don’t even get to teach her again! Such is life. We also have been teaching our Progressing Investigator, which is our teacher acting as an investigator, named Danny. Danny is engaged to Tracy who used to be a member but is now less active. But he’s in Provo training for the Common Wealth Games for six months before heading back to New Zealand where he’s from. He seems to take thing really well but he’s kind of just… complacent. It’s been really hard to pin point his needs. But we’re working on it and we’re teaching him again tonight.

 

Tuesday was good because we just had classes in the morning, and then in the evening we got to go to rehearsal for choir. Our whole district also got to sing in the choir and it was so awesome. I MISS CHOIR!! We sang a beautiful version of Precious Savior, Dear Redeemer. It was awesome. Then Elder Packer from the 70 spoke… It was alright. It was really doctrinal with not very much insight but we got a few golden nuggets from it. I also have had some awesomely embarrassing times with my district. We’re all getting super close. I was laughing at something so stupid that I did and I snorted. Then I was on the floor laughing because it was so embarrassing but I just couldn’t control it. Then I did this weird hiccup/burp thing in front of everyone and that just got everyone laughing a ton all over again. A few times at lunch or dinner things have been said that have made me laugh so hard that I’ve been crying. Like the image of Elder Weatherston (6’10”) and his companion, Elder Adamson (5’7″) spooning, with Elder A. as the little spoon. I was imaging a baby koala hugging a tree…. Okay. Maybe you had to be there. But know that I’m loving my district and it breaks my heart a little to know that I won’t be able to see them for TWO YEARS after this. Not even fair.

 

Thursday we had In Field Orientation all day. We learned about how to work with the members and stuff. It wasn’t horrible but it was definitely long and I was SO READY to be done. And then we had a three hour class afterward. Blah. It’s been a long week. I can’t wait to get out in the field! I’m terrified. But so so excited.

 

I can’t really think of anything else that I should say. This has hopefully been sufficient. Please remember to write me! I can’t even tell you how much that lifts me up. A LOT more than I had expected it would. Dad, I think it would be awesome for you to be studying PMG as a family. I can’t believe how much I DIDN’T know before coming here. And PMG just explains it all so well.

 

Here’s my favorite scripture that I’ve come across this week: Alma 26: 17-21 (I think). It’s really powerful. Read it out loud like you would read a story. We can all be like Alma. We can all have our sins washed away and feel exceedingly great joy!

 

[And lastly] 

I’m so happy. I’m so glad I’m here. THIS IS WHAT I’M SUPPOSED TO BE DOING. Even when it’s hard. I know that with all my heart.
 
Love,
 
Sister Hanseen. 🙂
Week 2 – MTC

2 thoughts on “Week 2 – MTC

  1. Brother & Sister Hanseen;
    I can’t tell you how thrilled I was to run across this blog. My son Elder Jordan Vassallo is serving a mission in the Pittsburgh – Pennsylvania, and is mentioned in her blog:) If you haven’t already, please join us on the facebook page we created to share stories just like this one. Your daughter McKann is incredible. I’m grateful for the little peak inside their time spent in the MTC.

    Sincerely, Jill Hunt
    Missionary Mom to Elder Jordan Vassallo
    Pitts – PA 4/ 2013 – 2015

    1. Hi Jill – This is McKann’s dad. I hadn’t discovered the comments portion of her blog until just tonight – silly me! I’m uploading her weekly emails. She mentions your son fairly regularly it seems! So what’s the facebook page? It would be fun to see it as well. Thanks! Peter

Leave a Reply

