A Slight Confession.

I have a bit of a confession.

I will admit that I can, at times, be a bit of a music hipster.

What does that mean? It means that I often spend time listening to a large variety of different music and I love to support the “up and coming” genre of music because I think it’s awesome that they are trying to make it happen for themselves. That often leads to finding bands that not many people have heard of, but that I like. That also results in me becoming attached to those bands as if they’re a little stray kitten I’ve found on the side of the road and want to keep all to myself (which, by the way, would probably never happen because I kind of hate cats, but that’s beside the point).

But what happens is that somehow people discover this little stray kitten, too. They start feeding it and it keeps growing and growing and everyone just thinks it’s the best kitten ever because, well, it IS. It’s the best kitten. It’s purr is so pretty, it’s fur is so shiny, and everyone loves it. The problem is, everyone becomes obsessed with the poor thing. Before I know it they’re playing with it nonstop; they’re taking videos of the kitten, and pictures, and putting them on facebook and instagram, and they’re recording its little purr and playing it over and over and over again because they just LOVE it. It’s almost creepy, in my opinion.

But then I start to resent the kitten a little bit. I feel like its betrayed my trust. I thought what we had was special. I thought that I had found it and nurtured it and cared for it and kept it all nice to myself. The sad thing is that I still think that little kitten is just the best little thing ever, I’m just selfish and I don’t want to share it.

 

Moral of the story is that Ed Sheeran is the little kitten.
But I’m still going to his concert tomorrow. You bet I am.

A Slight Confession.

One thought on “A Slight Confession.

Leave a Reply

