Where the Allegheny and the Monongahela Rivers Meet.

The first day in Geography 120: Geography & World Affairs, Professor Chad Emmett explained the importance and significance of Geography. He explained that one of the most valuable applications of geography is that you can make connections with anyone you come in contact with because, after all, everyone’s from somewhere. Professor Emmett’s example was that when you meet someone from Pittsburgh, instead of just saying “wow, that’s really cool,” you can instead say, “oh, Pittsburgh! Isn’t that where the Allegheny River and the Monongahela River meet to form the Ohio River?” By doing this, you’ve made a connection with that person and the place they are from.

Professor Emmett made reference to that example quite a few times in the course, and, in all honesty, it held quite little significance to me. I believe that is the last time the city of Pittsburgh will have been mentioned around me without any connection to it besides the occasional connection to my GEOG120 class at BYU.

Today, I received the most important piece of mail I have ever received in my entire life.

“Dear Sister Hanseen:

You are hereby called to serve as a missionary of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. You are assigned to labor in the Pennsylvania Pittsburgh Mission. It is anticipated that you will serve for a period of 18 months.

You should report to the Provo Missionary Training Center on Wednesday, April 24, 2013. You will prepare to preach the gospel in the English language.

Sincerely,
President Thomas S. Monson”

I am so humbled and honored that I have been called to serve the Lord in these last days by the current living prophet, President Monson. I have chance to put my life on hold, leaving all other affairs behind, and spread the word of God to the people of Pennsylvania. I get to serve them. I get to be with them. And I get to share with them the thing that I hold most dear to my heart in this life and the next–the thing that I believe produces joy beyond measure to those who have it and share it.

I’m one grateful gal.

Pennsylvania Pittsburgh. English. April 24th.
Pennsylvania Pittsburgh Mission.
Where the Allegheny and the Monongahela Rivers Meet.

2 thoughts on “Where the Allegheny and the Monongahela Rivers Meet.

  1. Courtney says:

    Hello! I was told yesterday that I should look up blogs of people who are going to the same mission as me, so I can get an idea of what the culture/mission/people are like. After a few blogs I stumbled on yours, turns out we are both going to the Pennsylvania Pittsburgh mission and leaving to me MTC on the same day! I just thought I would share my discovery with you. I am SUPER excited to serve the Lord and His people in Pennsylvania and am excited to hopefully meet you at least at the MTC! Have a fantastic day! Life is wonderful! ^-^

Leave a Reply

