College Cooking: Garlic Shrimp Pasta

Desperate times call for desperate measures. When you haven’t been grocery shopping for roughly four weeks (that’s a month, people), I’m pretty sure nobody would expect anything short of a delusional version of healthy and nourished self. I was no exception to this until I regained some sanity and went grocery shopping yesterday.

Over the last few days of the break, I got the flu. I didn’t eat much for couple days (as in, I ate a bagel and a Jamba Juice one day and threw it up so I ate like a bird for the next four days) and on Monday I was ready to eat something real and filling! I guess the delusional side was kicking in because with the limited food I had in my cupboard, I was under the impression that I could create this:

Image

Much to my dismay, it did not quite work out. But, considering I used some slightly different ingredients, it seems pretty clear that it wouldn’t have tasted nearly as good as that looks (or as good as it tasted in my mind).

I had these things:

plain couscous made with chicken broth
1 can of tiny shrimp
garlic seasoning

And that’s it. Made the couscous, drained the tiny shrimp and put them in a pan with the garlic seasoning and a little bit of olive oil, and then put the falsely sauteed tiny shrimp on top of the couscous.

This is what my decadent meal turned out to be:

Image

It was terrible.

Thankfully, I’ve been shopping since and can hopefully survive without going into a full state of deliriousness onset by culinary catastrophes before finals are over.

College Cooking: Garlic Shrimp Pasta

Leave a Reply

